Anglican Lutheran Society  Banner


The Patrons of the Anglican-Lutheran Society are the Archbishop of Canterbury, the Most Rev Justin Welby supported by the Archbishop of Dublin, the Most Rev Michael Jackson, and the President of the Lutheran World Federation. An invitation has been sent to Archbishop Musa Panti Filibus to become our Patron.

Michael JacksonJustin Welby

Our Co-Presidents are The Very Rev John Arnold, Dean Emeritus of Durham, England (Anglican) and The Right Rev Jürgen Johannesdotter, Bishop Emeritus of Schaumburg-Lippe, Germany (Lutheran)

John ArnoldJohn Arnold         Jürgen Johannesdotter  

They have enormous experience of ecumenical councils and commissions and we are very fortunate that both are able to give generously of their time and expertise in the service of our Society.

The day to day business of the Society is managed by our Co-Moderators, the Rev Dr Jaakko Rusama of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Finland, and the Right Rev Dr Michael Ipgrave, Bishop of Lichfield in the Church of England.

    Jaakko Rusama   Michael Ipgrave            

They are assisted by a Committee:

The Ven Christine Allsopp (Anglican)

Mrs Sally Barnes (Anglican)

The Very Rev Tom Bruch (Lutheran)

The Rev Sarah Farrow (Lutheran)

Mrs Helen Harding (Anglican)

Mr Richard Stephenson (Anglican)

The Rev Elîza Zikmane (Lutheran)

together with some Observers and co-opted members:

Fr Phillip Swingler (Roman Catholic)

The Rev Jonathan Collis (Anglican)

The Rev Perran Gay (Anglican)

Mrs Mary Phillips (Anglican)

Secretary :

The Rev Canon Dick Lewis (Anglican)

Treasurer :

Mrs Lisbeth Pedersen (Lutheran)

Membership Secretary :

Mrs Helen Harding (Anglican)

Editor of 'The Window'

The Rev Canon Dick Lewis (Anglican)


It is our aim to have a National Coordinator in every country where there are members. They keep members in touch with one another and, where appropriate, arrange local meetings and events. They also keep the wider membership up to date with ecumenical developments in their own country.

At present there are National Coordinators in each of the following countries:


Denmark : The Rev Susanne Freddin Skovhus

Finland : The Rev Dr Jaakko Rusama

Germany : The Rev Jochen Dallas

Iceland :

Norway : The Rev Fredrik Ulseth

Sweden : The Ven Richard Wottle

USA : Mr Tom Vanpoole


< Back    < Home     Return to top


Copyright © 2006 The Anglican Lutheran Society
Web Design by Kitachi Ltd